Big Week/Big Gig

Wow! What a crazy good week it has been! Even though it was full of so much stuff, it definitely went by pretty fast. I spent the majority of my time visiting Fort Collins to do some fundraising and then finished out the week by going to a pretty freakin sweet concert.

For those of you who don’t know, Fort Collins is where Colorado State University is located and where I had the pleasure of living for a fantastic five years. Its a place full of memories, friends and great food. Haven’t gone back to visit since before summer training so it was high time to head back up there for a while. My visit wasn’t just for recreational purposes though. There was some serious fundraising to be done there. In the end this whole week was a complete success.

Rio
Margaritas At The Rio With Good Friends (From Left To Right: Jared, Jake, Kara and I)

I got to stay with my old roomies and it was great getting to see everyone again. It was also great to be able to go to Mass at good old St. John XXIII right by where I used to live during school. I also got to hang out with a bunch of other Fort Collins friends and catch up. Got lunch/dinner/drinks with a lot of wonderful people at some of my favorite eateries in FoCo. On the MPD side of things…it was also a big success! I didn’t get a “no” from any of the people I met with and rather got some very generous donations and a few new monthly mission partners. I’m sure you’ve noticed that I’ve been pretty stressed about Mission Partner Development in some of my older posts….well I’m  still stressed but the load has definitely lightened substantially. I’m so so SO happy to say that I’m a little over halfway to being fully funded! Praise God!

My Brand New Panic! At The Disco Shirt
My Brand New Panic! At The Disco Shirt

Now to finish out that amazing week of Fort Collins, friends and good fundraising, I went to Channel 93.3′ s Big Gig concert at Saturday. i had gone to Big Gig once before a few years back to see The All-American Rejects, The Spill Canvas, The Red Jumpsuit Apparatus and Single File. (Now’s a good time to tell all of you that Modern Rock is my favorite kind of music.) This year I was super excited with the line up: Panic! At The Disco, Twenty One Pilots, American Authors and Walk The Moon. Now I’ve been listening to PATD since high school so I was stoked to see them live for the first time and the other three bands are recent favorites of mine so overall it sounded like an amazing show…and it was!

Sarah And I At Big Gig
Sarah And I At Big Gig

I took my best good friend and concert buddy Sarah to the show with me and our seats were fantastic. Right behind the pit a little to the left of the stage where you had a great view of everything. While we were there we also met up with some of those old roomies of mine I was talking about earlier. Concert’s with good bands + good friends = amazing experiences. Now all the bands were great but to be honest, even though Panic was the headliner-and they did sound awesome and put on a fun show-Twenty One Pilots absolutely blew me away with their performance.

Twenty One Pilots
Twenty One Pilots

Just picture both band members playing drum sets on little platforms…being held up by the audience. Enough said. I wish I snapped a good picture of it. They sounded amazing, they were fun to watch on stage and now I have the burning desire to buy a ukulele. I encourage everyone to check out their music. “Holding On To You” and “House of Gold” are their big radio hits right now but honestly all of their stuff rocks. Also check out my facebook album for more pictures from the concert.

The Singer From Twenty One Pilots Performing "House  of Gold"
The Singer From Twenty One Pilots Performing “House of Gold”

So to wrap things up, it was a great week visiting Fort Collins and the concert was tons of fun and now I can’t stop listening to Twenty One Pilots. This upcoming week isn’t too crazy but I do have a few more MPD meetings and on Friday I actually have a meeting with some fellow missionaries at my home parish of St. Thomas More with our pastor to hopefully see if I can do a parish talk. That would definitely be a nice boost to my fundraising. Prayers and good thoughts and vibes are still much needed and much appreciated! Time keeps flying by and it won’t be long until it’s time to leave for Florida!

 

Leave a Reply

