Team Ave’s Disney Magic Off-Site

Wow! It feels like forever since I’ve blogged! Sorry for the delay but it’s been a whirlwind of activity since I got on the plane to head down here! To start off I jsut want to say thanks to my amazing family. Right before I left for Ave Maria I got the opportunity to help move my little brother, Terrence, into his dorm room at the University of Northern Colorado up in Greeley. I’m so proud of him and I know he’s going to do amazing. I can’t wait to hear about all his adventures and I know that the rest of our family is so happy and excited for him.

Now my travels to Florida were pretty uneventful. Just the usual hustle and bustle of airports and flights. Honestly the best part of the trip was being reunited with my wonderful male teammate Mr. Jason Feeney as he and a student picked me and my luggage up from the airport. It’s crazy to think about but it had been about 2 months since Team Ave Maria first met at summer training. Whoa. Time sure flies. Once we got back to campus we spent the next few hours find me my room and such. I’m the proud resident of room 151 in St. Sebastian Hall. My room is huge and I can;t wait for all my stuff to get here so I can fill it up and make it my own. Walking around campus I felt a mixture of emotions. On the one hand it felt like I was just here even though training was over 2 months ago. On the other hand, I was so excited to get back here! Please reference this picture to see just how excited I was.

My Reaction To Being Back At Ave Maria
My Reaction To Being Back At Ave Maria

Literally the next day after I arrived at the university, the team and I were off to our off-site in Orlando. A team off-site is basically something fun the team does off-campus for a few days that helps us bond with each other as well as give us some time to plan for the year. Being lucky residents of Florida, we got to head to Disney World for our team off-site!!!! I’ve been to Disney World once before a long time ago and the funny thing is that that team and I actually stayed at the same resort that my family did. It was fate. We got to visit to Disney parks while we were in Orlando, The Magic Kingdom and the Hollywood Studios which, in my opinion, are the best two parks.

Driving Into Disney World
Driving Into Disney World

The team and I definitely had an amazing, magical time at Disney World. We didn’t get to everything but we did get to do a lot of stuff. We rode rides, we saw shows, and we ate delicious theme park food. I even got everyone on the two rides I remember being my favorite, the Tower of Terror and Space Mountain, and they’re absolutely still my favorites. However, I’m not ashamed to admit that one of my favorite things that we got to do was go to the Frozen sing-a-long…and yes it was awesome! It was even fun getting to meet Cinderella and Rapunzel. Even at 22, almost 23, years of age, Disney still manages to make the world magical. The parks have this way of bringing back all the good memories that we have from being kids growing up with the classic Disney movies.

Meeting Cinderella
Jason, Corinne, Melia and I Meeting Cinderella

I have to give a shout out to my awesome team director, Corinne and her friend Frank for setting it all up for us. It may have been my first ever team off-site but i think it’s pretty safe to say that it was the best. Not only was Disney World fantastic, but it was also so great to spend some quality time with my teammates after being gone and busy with fundraising for so long. Jason even gave me a class in cooking when we made dinner for everyone on our last night. We also got to go over our overall plan for campus this year and went over some ideas for how Fall Outreach is going to go this year. We really didn’t get into it too much but we put together a framework for how FOCUS is going to work on Ave Maria’s campus this year.

The Team And I In Front Of The Tower of Terror
The Team And I In Front Of The Tower of Terror

After two days of Disney Fun and bonding time it was time to head back to campus. A lot has happened in the past few days but I’ll talk about all that in my next post which will be pretty soon. Right now we’re in the thick of orientation week and I’ve already met some of Ave’s super fun and friendly students and I can’t wait to meet the rest! After a great off-site the team and I are definitely gearing up for what is sure to be an amazing year.

The Team And I Meeting Rapunzel
The Team And I Meeting Rapunzel
Leave a Reply

