Coffee, Candy & Rootbeer

We are in the midst of my favorite month of the year! Scary movie season, all things pumpkin flavored, Halloween and of course my birthday! Coincidentally it’s also been our busiest month so far.  The last two weeks have been filled with planning and events and lots of stress but for the most part everything has gone great!

First of all I have to talk about newsletters. Every FOCUS missionary makes and sends out newsletters to all their donors and mission partners. It’s a way to update everyone on how we’re doing, how things are going on campus and so they see that we’re actually doing things with their donation money.  We send them out at least once a semester and newsletter season is now.  For the past few weeks the team and I have been working on creating our newsletters, ordering them to get printed, addressing and stuffing envelopes and then sending them out. now it doesn’t sound so crazy but trust me it was tough. I’m not super creative when it comes to graphic design so it took me forever to come up with a design that I liked. I thought it would be easy to write but honestly I just couldn’t think what to write about. There’s so much I want to say about this place but I had to leaver lots of room for pictures. In the end I’m really happy with the finished product and I’ve sent most of them out. If you would like one feel free to donate to me… or just give me your address haha.

A Preview of My Newsletter
A Preview of My Newsletter

The first event I want to talk about is Coffeehouse. Now Coffeehouse is an open mic night that we put on every month where we give out free coffee and snacks and let students come and perform out in front of the Student Union. We had our first one last month so check out two blog post ago to see how that one went. We held our second one last weekend. Now, last Coffehouse was a huge hit. We had tons of students come out and perform and everyone had a really great time. Of course there were a few problems so this time we wanted to try and iron out any difficulties.

Students Jon & Adam Performing
Students Jon & Adam Performing

While this time around the stage looked great, we got more refreshments and had planned a little better I have to be honest and say that I was a little disappointed with how it went. We had a bunch of technical difficulties and we really couldn’t compete with a pool party that Residence Life was also putting on that night. It was really nobody’s fault but the turnout was disappointing and not as many students performed as last time. But it’s OK! We’re still learning how to do these things and it was till a lot of fun and I know next time is going to be awesome.

Students Performing At Coffeehouse
Students Performing At Coffeehouse

This past Friday was something called Scream On The Green. Basically the school put up a huge screen on the lawn and showed a scary movie and gave out free candy, popcorn and drinks. This year they showed the Alfred Hitchcock classic, Dial M for Murder. Now anyone who knows me can tell you that I LOVE scary movies so I know my horror. While I did enjoy the movie I feel like it was more of a detective story than a scary movie even when taking into account how long ago it was made.  I wasn’t sure students would go for it but the turnout was great and everyone looked like they had  a great time. The whole event was a lot of fun and I stuffed my face with free smarties and sweet tarts.

The Screen Showing Dial M For Murder
The Screen Showing Dial M For Murder

Now this past week has been pretty crazy busy. Our fearless Team Director and leader Corinne was gone Tuesday through Friday for a Team Director Summit in Georgia so the rest of the team and I were on our own with all the planning. Which leads me into the next few events I will talk about: Benefit Concert, Gazebo Party, Community Brunch.

First off, Saturday evening the university held a benefit concert for the National Breast Cancer Foundation and the Lung Cancer Alliance. They set up and decorated a stage at the loading docks and had a few students and alumni play while folks could enjoy free food. I only had the chance to see the first artist play who is a new student here I met named Jon Babineau. Now this Jon guy is totally awesome and amazing at Guitar. he and his sister write their own music and have an album on itunes. Everyone also did a great job with the stage. The whole area was decorated with chalk art and the sound was great. I’m sad i couldn’t stay for the whole thing.

Jon Playing At The Benefit Concert
Jon Playing At The Benefit Concert

I had to leave the concert early because I had to start setting up for our FOCUS Gazebo Party! The University has some gazebos sitting in the middle of campus near the pool and the volleyball court. If you’ve been keeping up with my blog it’s the same area that all the parties during Summer Training were held. The team and i planned a party where we gave out Root Beer Floats in FOCUS cups, played music, gave out snacks, played volleyball and some other lawn games. I was a little nervous about how it was going to go but it really went off without any problems and was tons of fun! People were dancing, enjoying the floats, playing games and socializing. The only thing I’m upset about is that I was so busy scooping ice cream that I didn’t have time to take pictures. But rest assured that it was lots of fun.

Remember when I told you about how the team and I had dinner at a couple’s house who lives in the community? Well for the past month we’ve been planning an event to invite other community members to where we could introduce ourselves and talk a little more about FOCUS and how they can get involved. Now I know it seems like I’m nervous before every event but I was REALLY nervous before this event because I had absolutely no idea what to expect. It was basically just like fundraising all over again haha. However, the whole thing went really well. A lot of people showed up and enjoyed a lovely brunch that Corinne and Melia made while the team and I got up and talked about FOCUS and who we are and what we do. They responded really well and we got a lot of contact info. But once again I was too busy to take pictures.

On a more general note, everything down here at Ave has been going really well. I’m leading two bible studies now. One for Freshman and Sophomores and one for Upperclassman. Both have been going well and I really love all the guys. For the past few weeks we’ve been going over why we read the bible, who is Jesus and why do we follow Him. This past week we had a really good discussion on prayers. We dissected the Our Father, the prayer that Jesus himself gave us, and looked at what each part was telling us. Great discussion and every week I look forward to see how things are going to go next. Discipleship is also going really well. Love the guys I’m working with. I love investing in them and they all are really amazing. SO, all in all mish life is really good despite the craziness and stress. Please keep us all in your prayers!

This coming week is going to be great! Monday we’re having an informational meeting about SEEK our national conference coming up. Then on Friday the University is planning a trip to Universal Studios for Halloween Horror Nights and I get to Chaperone! Then the next day I’m turning 23! Planning to spend the day at the beach and relax. Look for my next blog post to see how things go! I’ll take lots of pictures!

Leave a Reply

