ThanksLiving

Wow you know when I was thinking about what to write about in this post I at first thought it would be a short one. Then it all came flooding back just how much has gone down in the past two weeks. It’s definitely been crazy, busy, stressful, tiring and fun. Lots to talk about today but I do want to start out by saying thank you to all my readers, however many of you there are. You guys rock but more on saying thanks later.

Well to start out last weekend there were some really great events put on by the University. First off was Country Night, which was exactly what it sounds like.  A huge country dance night out at the Ave Maria stables. Honestly the whole thing kind of surprised me with how successful it was. I didn’t expect the amount of people that showed up. it was so much fun and was a little taste of home for me. There was poker, country swing dancing, a mechanical bull, free beer, a bonfire, weenie roasts, and tons and tons of flannel shirts. TI was so much fun and there was even some really great live music staring a few friends. It definitely made me excited about going dancing when I get back to Colorado.

IMG_20141122_243603_503
Nick, Jon, Anna, Angela , Tyler And Rudy Rocking Out

Last Saturday was definitely  fun filled night. The drama club here was putting on the musical “The Pirates of Penzance,” and it was closing night. I had been hearing great things about the show all week so I was really excited to finally see the show and let me tell you, it was absolutely amazing. It was funny, it was sweet, the music was great and the performances were fantastic. I haven’t seen a good play/musical in a really long time so it was so good for me and I had a great time. Great job to the cast and crew again. Really Really amazing job.

The Cast of "The Pirates of Penzance"
The Cast of “The Pirates of Penzance”

After the musical I spent the rest of the night helping celebrate a 22nd Birthday. Specifically Robby’s, (one of the RA’s in my dorm) birthday. Lots of fun, music, dancing and good friends. Robby’s a great guy and a really good RA and we all know how awesome turning 22 is thanks to Taylor Swift so we all had a great time hanging out and celebrating.

Helping Robby Celebrate His Birthday
Helping Robby Celebrate His Birthday

Sunday rolled around and the Students For Life Club had brought in Abby Johnson to speak that night. Abby is a fantastic pro-life speaker that I was actually lucky enough to hear speak back at CSU a few years ago. She actually used to be a clinic director for Planned Parenthood where she had a life changing experience that inspired her to become pro-life.  Her story is absolutely amazing and I can’t possibly put it into words here but trust me when I say it’s very powerful and  the things she has to say are things that a lot of people need to hear about the whole pro-life movement and the issue of abortion.  I’m really excited that she’s also going to be speaking at SEEK in January! If you get the chance, buy her book and read it or go hear her talk.

Abby Johnson Speaking At AMU
Abby Johnson Speaking At AMU

Let;s see, the week of Thanksgiving definitely started off with a lot of fun. The team and I decided to head to the beach and take Christmas photos. Partly so we could send them to mission partners but mostly to just be goofy and have some fun. We wanted to show people what the Christmas season is like for Floridians so naturally we went and got dressed up in tacky Hawaiian shirts, got some Coronas, and took a bunch of photos at the beach while decorated for Christmas. Honestly it was SO much fun and I think it was really good for us to just hang out and be goofy after the funk we’d been going through. I was laughing out loud uploading them so please go over to my facebook and check out the whole album. There are some absolute gems.

Christmas At The Beach
Christmas At The Beach

Now even though it was Thanksgiving break, there were quite a few students that had decided to stay here for the holiday. It was too expensive for me to fly back for such a short period of time so I was stuck here as well. It was my first Thanksgiving away from home and while it was sad, I also had some wonderful people to spend it with. Melia and Jason were also here for the big day so we had dinner with some of our students. It was really wonderful and the food was fantastic. I’m so grateful that they offered to include us in their Thanksgiving. It was so lovely.

Mia, Austin, Jason, Maria, Audrey and Melia on Thanksgiving
Mia, Austin, Jason, Maria, Audrey and Melia on Thanksgiving

Speaking of giving thanks, I just want to take a few line to say what I’m Thankful for. Most of all I’m thankful for the wonderful family and friends that I’ve been blessed with. God has been so amazing to me. And I’m truly grateful to him for all the good things and good people he’s put in my life. I couldn’t be here without each and everyone of them. Whenever I’m feeling down I try and think of all the wonderful people I have in my life and I know that God put them each there for a reason. I’m sure that all of you have people in your life that your thankful for and I encourage you to take just a second and thank Him for putting them in your life.

I thankful for getting the chance to spread the gospel as a FOCUS missionary, I’m thankful for all my fellow missionaries, my team and all the  amazing students here at Ave Maria that I get the chance to work with. A huge thank you to all my mission partners because without them, I wouldn’t be able to be here. It’s truly been a wonderful experience so far and I’m looking forward to the future.

Now with Thanksgiving of course also means BLACK FRIDAY!! I love Black Friday shopping so even though I was spending it away from home I wasn’t going to pass up all the amazing deals. Got myself two sweatshirts, jeans, three shirts, sweats, movies and even some pillows. Another successful Black Friday.

This Thanksgiving Weekend I’ve had the chance to really just hang out and get to know some of the students here and it’s been so wonderful. Yesterday I got to spend that day at the beach hanging out with some great people. Sure the water was super cold but it was a beautiful day at at a beautiful beach and we all had a great time. It was awesome just to have some time to relax and listen to the waves.

The Boys At The Beach
The Boys At The Beach

After spending the day relaxing on the beach I spent the evening on a different adventure. Those of you who know me know that I got my ears pierced almost three years ago now. I’ve been thinking about getting one of my ears pierced again and it just so happened that some people were going to do just that last night. Long story short, I got that new piercing and I’ve very happy with it. Pictures to come. After that adventure we spent the night at the Naples pier eating junk food and enjoying each other’s company. It was a rich full day haha.

The Beautiful Clam Pass Beach
The Beautiful Clam Pass Beach

I know I talked a lot about the funk the team and I were in last post, but I really think that things are looking up. These past two weeks I’ve really realized how amazing the people here are and I’m so excited to come back next semester. I think that this semester has been more about laying the foundation and I think we’ve done a great job of that so now we’re ready to get down to business next semester. I’m so so so thankful for the work that I get to do here and I love all the students I’ve had the chance to meet. This week the team and I are joining up with team FAU for our Off-site. Overall things are winding down and I’ll be heading back to Colorado in two weeks!! More adventures to come!

 

Leave a Reply

