Break Time’s Over

Well it’s officially the end of the first week of classes back here at Ave Maria University! This past week went by fast but it also feels like I did a lot of stuff. It’s been so great to see all the students back. I really did miss everyone a lot haha. Before I get into the specifics of last week there’s something really tough and important I need to talk about. Fundraising.

You all know hoe much I love fundraising (sarcastic) and if you’ve been following my blog from the beginning, you know how hard it’s been for me. Long story short, due to a lot of different circumstances mission partner development been so challenging for me and it really makes me wanna cry sometimes. However, God is so amazing and he helped me get enough support to get me here and I’m so thankful for that.  I also wanna give all my current mission partners a shout out Without you guys none of the work I’m doing would be possible. You guys are so amazing. God bless you. But now I’m starting to feel some pressure.

10923517_10153027692092439_976470565918682297_n
Having Some Fun With The FOCUS Table Cloth

 

I don’t mean to sound desperate or dramatic but if I can’t get my fundraising off the ground this semester there’s a good chance I won’t be back next year. And that terrifies me.  I’m kind of at the end of my rope because I feel like I’ve run out of people to ask. I feel so incompetent sometimes when I see how many mission partners my teammates have. Pretty much everyone supporting me right now is either family, or close friends from college. Again I love you guys so much and I’m blessed to have you all but unfortunately I still need more support. I have little over $1,000 a month in financial support right now which is about half of what I should be bringing in to be a fully funded missionary. My team director has been really supportive and is helping me look for more creative options in raising support but it’s till tough.

I’m pretty much on my knees at this point. I’m praying for God to bless me with more mission partners. If anyone reading this enjoys hearing about my adventure as a FOCUS missionary and believes in the work I’m doing, I implore you to consider becoming one of my mission partners. Even if you can only commit to $20 a month, it would mean the world to me.  Please check out my fundraising page. Also please contact me if you have more questions or concerns. I’d love to hear from you! And of course prayers are much much appreciated.

Okay sorry for all that whining. Let’s talk about how awesome it’s been being back at Ave! Like I said above, it’s really great to see everyone that I missed so much over break. I can’t believe I’ve been gone for over a month! I definitely missed the people and the place but also the 70 degree weather and sunshine haha. The team and I weren’t too busy this week. We mostly just started looking at what’s going on this semester and what kinds of events we want to plan. I feel like last semester was mostly about learning how to be a missionary and how to work on this campus so I have high hopes for doing some good work this semester!

2015-01-17 01.32.47
Having Some Fun With The Team’s Glasses

Sorry for the lack of pictures but there wasn’t a whole lot to take pictures of this week. So please enjoy the pictures of me wearing the FOCUS table cloth and the pictures of the team’s glasses. The team and I have settled back in and are ready to hit the ground hard next week. I’ll be starting up bible studies and discipleships this week and I’m super excited! I feel like there’s so many things I learned over break and at SEEK that I can’t wait to share with the students. I’m also looking forward to developing the friendships and bonds that formed last semester.  There’s actually a lot to look forward to this semester. My family is coming to visit around Spring break, interview weekend, regional gathering, the spring retreat, Lent, etc.

10931047_10153027694247439_8680576818765166180_n

It’s bee a low key week, just settling back in and making plans. The team and I relaxed this weekend by going to the movies and grabbing some Chick-fil-a. We’re going to try and hang out more outside of scheduled “Team Fun” and i think that’s a great idea. I have the feeling that it’s going to be a great semester. I mean if I can just get my finances sorted out, that would be amazing. Despite that I do feel hopeful and I can’t wait to see all the amazing things that God has planned for me and the students over the next few months. Say a prayer for us if you can!

 

Leave a Reply

