Lentsanity

Hey internet family!! Hope that all is well and that things are good for all you folks who actually read this. Not a whole lot of stuff to report on but the biggest thing to mention is that we are now in the midst of Lent! But before I get into that I have some other stuff to talk about.

20150220_194807

Two Fridays ago it was Ave Idol and actually no, it’s not a singing competition but actually a lip syncing competition. Remember how I keep talking about how the students here take non-academic activities super seriously? Well this is another example. Ave Idol was truly a spectacle to behold. In every act you could tell how much effort the students put into the choreography, the song choice, the props and the costumes. It was funny, it was exciting and very well done. There was something that I liked about every act but in the end the boys of “Just In Time” won the judges over and took the title of Ave Idol for their very in sync performance to Justin Bieber’s “Baby.” Props to you guys.

Lucas, Patrick, Robby, Sebastian, and Daniel. The Winners
Lucas, Patrick, Robby, Sebastian, and Daniel. The Winners

Ave Idol was so exciting and so much fun that I’m actually considering getting some people together and doing a song for next year! You know, if I do come back here next year. Fingers crossed!

Last week it was my teammate Melia’s birthday. To celebrate we all took a lunch trip to the Cheesecake Factory!! You all know that’s one of my favorite restaurants so you know I was happy. But of course it wasn’t about me. It was about celebrating Melia’s birth and how thankful we are to have her here as a teammate and friend. And I have to stress that she is really awesome. She also comes from a big state school so when all else fails, I know that she and I have lots in common when it comes to college experience which is really comforting. We had a great time with good food and conversation about birthday memories. If you ever need a gift for Melia just remember that a  little shrimp salad in a bread bowl will go a long way.

My eyes were bigger than my stomach at lunch
My eyes were bigger than my stomach at lunch

The big thing to talk about in this post though is that we are in the midst of Lent. Lent is more just a liturgical season where people give up stuff and don’t eat meat on Fridays to prepare for Easter. Lent is all about sacrifice and it all actually goes back to our baptismal promises. If you can’t remember what the baptismal promises are, it’s basically everything we say in the Apostles Creed. If you can’t remember what that is, it’s just a google search away. The three pillars of Lent are Prayer, Fasting and Almsgiving and each of those stems from the promises of our baptism. Follow me as I go through each one briefly.

  • Prayer: Lent is a time where we should deepen our prayer for the grace to live out our baptismal promises more fully. We may also pray for those who will be baptized into the church this Easter, so that THEY may live out the promises they make fully and truly.
  • Fasting: Not just giving up soda and sweets for the 10th year in a row, fasting is actually an aid to prayer as our hunger pangs should remind us of our hunger for God and his thirst for us. It should also be linked to our concern for those who are forced to fast through poverty. By our Baptism, we are charged with the responsibility of showing Christ’s love to the world, especially to those in need.  We don’t eat meat on Fridays to remind ourselves of those who go without out meat on a regular basis.
  • Almsgiving: It is a sign of our care for those in need and an expression of our gratitude for all that God has given to us. Works of charity and the promotion of justice are integral elements of the Christian way of life we began when we were baptized.

There’s so much more I could go into about Lent but those are I feel like some of the most important things to remember. One of our priests here put it best: “Lent is the time to give up things so that nothing but God has power over you,” just let that sink in for a minute. Pretty sweet huh?

Speaking of charity and almsgiving, it’s been quite an interesting week for me. One of my students needed to get surgery on his hand. Long story short, he was released into my care and I wanted to make sure he took care of himself so he pretty much moved into my room for the week. As exhausting as it was, it was really nice. It was nice having someone to keep me company and we had some really amazing conversations. I also learned a lot more about patience , sacrifice and charity haha. God is amazing.

Patrick and I after surgery
Patrick and I after surgery

Now that he’s feeling much better, he’s all grown up and left the nest and I can’t help but miss him even though I still pretty much see him every day haha. It was a long week but a good one.  I also joined the staff intramural ultimate Frisbee team which has been so much fun but also shown me how out of shape I am. We’ve pretty much gotten killed in both games we’ve played so far. But hey we’re Team Fun and our motto is Minimum Effort, Maximum Fun so we all try to keep that in mind.

So far this week has been pretty easy. Corinne and Melia have been out of town for a Team Director Summit in Georgia so we had no meetings yesterday or today. I suspect the rest of the week will be equally easy since Spring Break is next week. That’s right, it’s almost Spring Break and I can’t believe it. This semester is flying by and I can’t take it. But at the same time I’m really excited because my family is coming to visit in two weeks!

Things were tough and slow-going this semester but things are good now and I can’t believe that the semester is already half over. I’m not ready for that! Please pray for me and my students that things continue to stay good and  get even better. Look for my next post on what all we end up doing for Spring Break!

 

 

Leave a Reply

